The Three Ms – A Common Heritage

This is a perspective on common roots which I had never considered before…

I saw this lovely piece of calligraphy art by Lord Richard-Fouad MacLeod at an Eid event today. It simply has three ‘م’ or ‘meems’ – letters in the Arabic alphabet which correspond to the English ‘M’ – which represent the initials of the founders of the three Abrahamic faiths: Moses (or Musa (AS) in Arabic); ‘Messiah’ or Jesus (commonly known as ‘Esah’ in Arabic); and Muhammad (PBUH). It points to the common heritage between these great faiths, and in that our shared traditions and values. I never thought of the names of these great Messengers having a common root, so I quite liked this view.


Art by Lord Richard-Fouad MacLeod


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s