A reminder I was meant to get

I have a sticky on my laptop home page – a very visible, blue, digital ‘Post It’ in the middle of my screen. It has a couple of my favourite Hadiths and a couple of sayings about God that I love. I see it every time I switch on my laptop, but I rarely read it – because it’s always there. Yesterday, for some reason, I started correcting the capitalisation on one of the sayings (yes, I’m a grammar vigilante). And then I read it properly:

Ibn al Qayyim

I have been anxious and worried for the last few days – a couple of things have upset and unsettled me recently – and although I have been praying to God, I still wasn’t finding that relief. When I read this, I knew that it was OK to be where I was, maybe even perfect. ‘Therefore if the pains of this world tire you do not grieve. For it may be that Allah wishes to hear your voice by way of duaa’. Such beautiful words of comfort that spoke to me.  

A wonderful reminder for me that a call to God never goes unheard, and my prayers are always safe with Him.

Leave a Reply

